Day 4 // Barcelona street style and Gaudi House

My feet are dead. At the same time I’m in this constant state of bliss–Barcelona has my heart.  hahaha I hope you aren’t rolling your eyes because I think I’ve said “i love” to about everything and every place I’ve been too.  Today we continued to explore and see the wide span of this wonderful city by foot! and taking many pictures. Just a forward–when trying to pick out pictures for this post, I tried to limit the selfie count to as minimal as possible, but I can’t deny the somewhat excessiveness *shys from computer*.  I wanted to be captured next to the most beautiful parts, but the number of those is un-countable…therefore…many pictures

As I said we walked the stone streets from Cataluyna to Gotic to the Port (i’ll explain more!), and did quite a lot of shopping 😀  It is so lively here.

this was from yesterday, but this is one of the major streets that lead to the shops

this was from yesterday, but this is one of the major streets-Las Ramblas-that leads to the street shops

IMG_0914

newest buy

newest buy 🙂

We saw one of Gaudi’s buildings in the main city, Casa Batlló…preview for more of his work later in this post!

IMG_0841 IMG_0842

Farmer’s market – ‘Mercat St. Jospeh La Boqueria. I’ve been to a couple farmer’s markets in other countries, and other than the Bazaar in Instabul, this is probably the most memorable. So colorful and vibrant-these peoples’ goods are like artwork.  I think this is about half of the pictures that I took.

IMG_0877

marzipan, my nana's favorite

assorted candy and marzipan, my nana’s favorite

IMG_0896 IMG_0902 IMG_0892 IMG_0991 IMG_0895 IMG_0884 IMG_0888 IMG_0889 IMG_0893

IMG_0891

couldn't miss the chocolate

couldn’t miss the chocolate

IMG_0904

pasteles

IMG_0906

We grabbed lunch here and then headed for the port side

IMG_0917

Christopher Columbus

IMG_0918 IMG_0928 IMG_0938

 

and then to Gòtic, or Gothic side of town

IMG_0951

IMG_0950

Cathedral of Holy Cross and Saint Eulalia

Cathedral of Holy Cross and Saint Eulalia

We were pretty tired after all this walking, so we went back to the hotel to take a 30min siesta and then back out to the streets!  We did some more shopping down on the opposite side of Las Ramblas, and then took a cab to the famous Gaudi House

This is a must see if you ever come to Barcelona. We didn’t go inside, but we wandered the expansive outside land full of the most abstract architecture, and blooming gardens.

IMG_1021 IMG_1034 IMG_1047 IMG_1048 IMG_1066 IMG_1064 IMG_1067 IMG_1086

We ran into our Italian friends from yesterday! Their bands called ‘Rolling Strunzi’-literally the sweetest things ❤ ❤ ❤ I’m in love!

IMG_1096 IMG_1100They sang a song for us…DYING…It was about a man who meets a woman and starts to fall in love, and then she goes away, leaving him alone. I wanted to attach a clip, but I’m unsure how to do so yet /: haha

Another picture of the streets

IMG_0849

 

Ended with sunset at Placa de Catalunya..

P1010138

realized I pose the same in almost every picture lol..oops

 

We we’re pretty exhausted so we decided to turn in early at 9pm, had dinner and currently sitting by the balcony-listening to the spanish music playing from below!

Don’t know the plan for tomorrow!  Just going to go with the flow…and then blog about it of course 🙂

Much love,

Maddi

Leave a Reply

