“My Trip To” // Istanbul, Turkey

Counting down to my trip with another post about Europe!

Istanbul is a beautiful city: lively, colorful, and rests peacefully by the sea.  I wish I could have spent more time there, and it is definitely a place I hope to return to.

My family and I were lucky enough to enjoy Turkish tea and chocolate on the Sea of Marmara; it is a widely popular tourist activity to do.  We enjoyed the delicious combination of tea flavors with different chocolate chips, relaxed on lavish couches, and incredibly decorated interior of the hotel where the event took place.  There was a gorgeous buffet of all kinds of sweets and traditional Turkish desserts.  I’m still so bitter at loosing those photos, because it was such an eye-appealing place, but I guess you’ll have to see for yourself!

Afterwards we explored a little and came upon the Spice Bazaar, one of the largest in the city. The place was brimming with locals and tourists alike.  At every turn there was something new to see: spices, desserts, produce, rugs, jewelry.  Please excuse my faces in these pictures..lol..I was fourteen here!

DSCF0245

lol I was so awkward

DSCF0259

I still remember the interior: high ceilings, pointed-dome shaped doors, and colored glass lanterns to light the way.

ugh I want to go back!

Then we took their type of subway system and went to Dolmabahce Palace; it sits right along the sea.  If you have ever been to China and seen some of the intricacies of their temple buildings and palaces, you would awe just the same.  Everything from the doorknobs to flooring to ceiling was so detailed. It awed me that people literally handmade every detail of the building.

courtyard

the courtyard

And here is the Tumblr and Pinterest famous Dolmabache Palace water gate.  Before, this gate was a personal port for the ships.

gate in the background

gate in the background

DSCF0159

 

Can we take a moment and admire my family’s matching shoes? Ugh still to this day I resent my mother for making us all wear the same style of Keens.  I made SURE that this coming trip that was not going to happen.  Yes, good walking shoes are necessary for a trip to Europe, BUT it doesn’t mean you cannot be cute as well! You may have to pay a little more for the cuter styles, but if you can wear them both before and after the trip, it is much more worth it.  This coming trip I bought a cute pair of Clarks from Nordstrom.  I haven’t touched, nor even see these keens after the trip was over; so they served a good purpose, but were somewhat wasted after the trip.  Funny note: my dad still wears his today, but with socks *good god*

hahaha sorry for the rant. Other than the shoes, I adore this picture and adore Istanbul!

Much love,

Maddi

Leave a Reply

