“My Trip To” // Santorini, Greece

Santorini, Greece 2011

Santorini, Greece 2011

I’ll give a little view on a place I’ve traveled to; I have that ‘wanderlust’ feeling, and it seemed fit since I will be heading over to Europe in t-minus 5 days! So my first post on my travels is about one of my favorite of all time: Santorini, Greece.

Almost exactly four years ago (WOW cannot believe how long ago it was) my family went on a cruise around the Mediterranean; we went to Paris, France, Croatia, Montenegro, multiple places in Greece, Italy, and Turkey.  Greece was a dream…it looked like a scene from a movie…”The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” movie!

While most cruises have tours at every stop, my family likes to kind of go on our own and explore the places. My dad is allll about local. Local, local, local–at every stop he makes sure we know that he has to get his “local bite to eat” somewhere.  We travel with the idea to  ‘do as the Romans do’, and staying away from all the touristy activities.  Don’t get my wrong, tours are great! We take a lot of those as well, but those are usually when we need to see multiple places in a short amount of time, or want to do things that only a tour will allow us to.

Soo we did a little of both here.  We took a tour to see some of the volcanic history of Santorini, and even swam to hot mud springs..hence this picture. I wish I had more! But when my computer crashed-twice this year-many of the pictures were lost unfortunately.

2011

2011

After that, my family and I took a stroll through the beautiful city! Santorini itself is located elevated high from sea level, it more of less so sits on a cliff, reasoning why it is such a hilly place.  We walked in and through the beautiful white walls, and stopped in a couple shops.

view from local restaurant-2011

view from local restaurant-2011

I still remember the meal we had there: greek salad. Lame idea to get a salad in greece? HECK no. The mozzarella was so smooth and rich; it actually tasted like something other than some of the kind available here in the states. The tomatoes were the BEST I have ever had; Greece is known for their tomatoes and cucumbers.

CIMG0858

white walls

Probably the most ‘bloggable’ and exciting part of our excursion was the donkey ride down the hill.  All the cruise guests received free passes to the ski lift: the fastest way to slide back and forth from the city, to the port.  OR there is a donkey ride down the long, windy, and steep hill…and which one does my dad choose?

CIMG0888

My mom, sister, and I were very much skeptical of the whole process.  Only two other tourists that we saw had made the trip down; a British couple (dad’s new friends he made on the trip) who had spent the day with us refused to come along.  It was pretty scary going down these donkeys on a very wobbly stoned, steep hilled road, but was an incredible experience to day the least.

windy hill down the cliff

windy hill down the cliff

owner of the donkeys who led us down

owner of the donkeys who led us down

each cutely decorated

each cutely decorated

wow...

wow…

the view of our ship in the background

the view of our ship in the background

Just a heads up…these pictures were taken four years ago..soooo I don’t look much like this anymore haha neither does my sister.

If you ever go to Santorini, I think you should take the risk and go with the donkey over the ski lift.  It’s a great story to tell! And I promise you’d wildly enjoy the experience.

Much love,

Maddi

p.s. more to come from this trip!

2 thoughts on ““My Trip To” // Santorini, Greece

Leave a Reply

